My experience and opinion about social media

Social media has been a big part of our daily lives in the past couple of years with new hits such as Instagram and Snapchat. Social media has been a blessing to some people who are able to communicate to friends and family across long distances and has been a liability to others.

In my family, my mom is big supporter of Facebook. It gives her something to do when she is bored and she able to connect to her old high school friends back in Vietnam. For me, it has been good experience as well. I am able to communicate with friends outside of school and keep up-to-date on things going with things I like.

However, those benefits come with some disadvantages as well. I got my Facebook account back when I was only 12 years old. I didn’t really know how to use it well and had some troll posts about video games that were cringy to me as of today. I also used to procrastinate a lot by going on Facebook all the time and the same can be said about my mom. I took me some time to dial back on social media and using it as tool rather than a game that I am addicted.

Social media can be very useful for everyone that is looking to communicate to friends and family. However, just the main disadvantage with it is the fact that one must know how to use effectively and responsibly. It is a drug that can be useful or harmful to a person.

Photo by BrickinNick (DarthNick) (CC BY-NC 2.0)

Leave a Reply

